Chapter Celebrates 25th the AGC of Texas Scholarship



Twenty-three students were chosen to receive 2019 AGC Scholarships and were recognized at the June membership luncheon at the Hyatt Regency

2019 is a year of major milestones. In addition to the Management Conference celebrating its 50th birthday, the AGC of Texas Scholarship Program entered its 25th year, stronger than ever.

The Scholarship Committee’s program is in continuous development, to keep up with the powerful patronage of AGC members and the growing demands of the industry. In 25 years, the program looks different from its early years. Through the overwhelming generosity of AGC members, the committee distributed scholarships to a record twenty-three recipients. Thirty percent of the recipients are female, and ten percent are pursuing vocational education—an aspect of industry development aggressively promoted by the committee.

Despite its differences, the heart of the program is in the same place. Throughout its 100-year history, the Texas highway industry has maintained national leadership through the skill, integrity, and responsibility of its business leaders. The scholarship program is an important means to continue this legacy.

Scholarship Committee Chair Elizabeth Weisman Zwak made the presentations to twenty of the twenty-three who attended the June membership luncheon, which was reserved to introduce the future scholars to the members who supported education.

The Scholarship Gala will be held Thursday, September 5 at the Hyatt Regency Austin. Featuring the Charlie Daniels Band, the event will have dinner, dancing, and live and silent auctions. Tables and individual seats are still available, as are sponsorship opportunities. One hundred percent of proceeds go to the Scholarship Program. Contact Tracey Borders at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. to support the future of the industry.

Raphael Mejia
Raphael Mejia, studying Construction science at Texas A&M University

Mason Mullins
Mason Mullins, studying Diesel and heavy equipment at Stephen F. Austin State University

Colton Williams
Colton Williams (Mechanical engineering at West Texas A&M University)

Dannion Gallagher
Dannion Gallagher (Welding at Hill College)

Dilyn Millard
Dillyn Millard (Structural welding at Tulsa Welding School in Houston

Camron Anderson
Camron Anderson (Engineering technology at Sam Houston State University)

Cristian Carney
Cristian Carney (Construction management/business at Texas State University/Blinn Jr. College

Colton Clark
Colton Clark (Construction science at Texas A&M)

Jairo Cortes
Jairo Cortes (Manufacturing and Industrial Management at Tarleton State University)

Hannah Garcia
Hannah Garcia (Accounting and Finance at Texas A&M)

Grace Seelbach
Grace Seelbach (Business management at Texas State University)

Raegan Villas
Raegan Villas (Civil engineering at Tarleton State University)

 Jacob Authier
Jacob Authier (Civil engineering at University of Texas)

Christian Orneals
Christian Ornelas, studying Civil engineering at Texas A&M University; Blinn engineering program

Dalton Gumina
Dalton Gumina (Construction science at Texas A&M)

Maria Posada
Maria Posada (Political Science with a focus in Human Resources at the University of Houston – Downtown)

Katelynn Ashmore
Katelynn Ashmore (Construction science at Texas A&M)

Sydney Rushing
Sydney Rushing, studying Engineering at Mississippi State University

Margarito Hernandez
Margarito Hernandez, studying Occupational Health and Safety Management at Odessa College

Grant Malkowski
Grant Malkowski, studying Civil engineering at UT-Arlington

Not pictured:
Wade Vandevender: Construction supervision and project management at San Diego State University
Rhett Schmitt: Construction management at University of Houston
Layne Whited: Welding at Tulsa Welding school


MediaEDGE Logo sml